Monday, June 15, 2015

2008 MidWest Composers Symposium

featuring composers from the Universities of
Cincinnati, Indiana, Iowa and Michigan

Clapp Recital Hall
University of Iowa, School of Music
February 8 & 9, 2008

|| download program booklet ||
|| download poster ||


The MidWest Composers Symposium is a consortium made up of the composition departments of four American Midwest Universities: The University of Cincinnati, Indiana University and the Universities of Iowa and Michigan. The purpose is to allow students to have contact with other composers at nearby institutions, and to foster connections and self-identity.

The Symposium began in 1948 by Anthony Donato of Northwestern University and originally Michigan, Illinois and Iowa. For a few years during the 1960s, the symposium concerts ceased due to a change in academic calendars, but resumed in the early 1970s when most schools adopted the quarter system. Oberlin College joined at this point, and a few years later, Indiana University. Northwestern dropped out in 1992, and Illinois and Oberlin dropped out last year, in 2007. This is the University of Cincinnati's first year as a member, and we warmly welcome the composers and performers from CCM.

The University of Cincinnati
Joel Hoffman, Michael Fiday and Mara Helmuth

Indiana University
Claude Baker, David Dzubay, Don Freund, John Gibson, Jeffrey Hass, Eugene O'Brien,
PQ Phan, Sven-David Sandstroem and David Ward-Steinman (visiting)

The University of Iowa
Lawrence Fritts, Michael Eckert and David Gompper

The University of Michigan
Evan Chambers, William Bolcom, Michael Daugherty, Erik Santos and Bright Sheng


Program Schedule

Friday, February 8, 2008

Concert I

featuring the music of
Yen, Davis, Macura, Beecher, Farrell & Gainey

8:00 p.m. at Clapp Recital Hall (Reception following in the Lobby)

Saturday, February 9, 2008

Coffee & Tea, Bagels & Rolls
9:30 a.m. at Clapp Recital Hall Lobby

Concert II

featuring the music of
Gagliardo, Bozone, Juffernbruch, Lenth, Lin, Jolley, Bark, & Gibson

10:30 a.m. at Clapp Recital Hall

Faculty Business Lunch
12:30 p.m. -- meet in the Lobby of Clapp Recital Hall

Concert III

featuring the music of
Dicke, Marie, Sment, Fischer, DeVasto, Tholenaar-Maples & Kim

2:00 p.m. at Clapp Recital Hall

Concert IV

featuring the music of
Neuman, Dooley, Custer, Dotson, Nathan, Aharony

4:00 p.m. at Clapp Recital Hall

Concert V

featuring the music of
Werner, Draper, Yang, Chen, Macura, Xie, Pratt, Sylvester & Shin

8:00 p.m. at Harper Recital Hall (Room 1032 inside the SOM)
(Reception following the concert in Dixon Hall)