The University of Iowa School of Music and Writer's Workshop

present



a music recital featuring recent collaborations between poets and composers

### Monday, December 7, 1992 Harper Hall 8:00 pm

White Glass

Marvin Bell/David Gompper

Katherine Eberle - mezzo soprano David Gompper - piano

Janet Kenning/Kevin Siegfried

Nancy Hagen - soprano Michael Miller - piano

**Exercise I** 

Desire

Cris Ewing, Matthew Burrier - performers

Geoffrey Nutter/Cris Ewing

# Ezra in the Terrestrial Paradise

Kristor Hustad - baritone Matthew Burrier, Michael Miller - piano Sara Crayne/Michael Miller

Finale

Steven Ledbetter/Andrew Osborne

Barbara Meyer - actress/singer Andrew Osborne - reader Timothy O'Dell - saxophone Glenn Lemieux - piano

Games We Love

Geoffrey Nutter/John C. Ross

Barbara Meyer - soprano Amy Nadel - piano Patrick Williams - bass John C. Ross - conductor

intermission

# Constant Words, Random Music/ Random Words, Constant Music

Rebecca Wolff/Cris Ewing

Rebecca Wolff - voice Cris Ewing - mixer

Renascence: after Edna St. Vincent Millay

Heidi Best - soprano Michael Miller - piano

**Thwarted Movements** 

Gwendolyn Tuesday - soprano Sean Williams - tenor Timothy O'Dell - saxophone

**Elemental Aperisms** 

Matthew Burrier, Cris Ewing, Michael Miller, Dennis Prieto - performers

### **Toward Degenerate Matter**

Janet Kenning/Timothy O'Dell

Nan Secor/Matthew Burrier

Laura Koenig - flute Marla Feeney - clarinet Greg Schwartz - trumpet Michael Miller - piano Tom Dostal - percussion Michael Geary - percussion Jeff Fields - bass baritone Nancy Hagen - soprano Timothy O'Dell - conductor

Due to illness, the following works were not able to be performed tonight: Moving Water by Kaufmann and Ross Acephalous by Emerson and Lemieux Song #1 by Israeli and Craven

## Word and Music Course Fall, 1992

#### Poets

### Composers

Jocelyn Emerson Sara Crayne Henry Israeli Juliet Kaufmann Janet Kenning Geoffrey Nutter Andrew Osborn Mary Pretorius Nan Secor Rebecca Wolff Kenneth Baker Matthew Burrier Joseph Craven Timothy O'Dell Cris Ewing Steve Ledbetter Glenn Lemieux Michael Miller John Ross Kevin Siegfried

Marvin Bell

David Gompper

Nan Secor/Michael Miller

-

Mary Pretorius/Kenneth Baker